Over the Falls: A Novel (Hardcover)

Over the Falls: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
In Warehouse, Usually Ships to Store in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of The River at Night, Rebecca Hodge's next thrilling read explores how far one woman will go to find her sister.

Bryn Collins moved to the Eastern Tennessee mountains and never looked back when, fourteen years ago, her fiancé, Sawyer, jilted her for her despised sister, Del. Sawyer was later killed in a plane crash, but Bryn has never been able to forgive her sister for what she did, and instead chooses to spend her days in the idyllic beauty of the rugged landscape. Although a life-threatening accident ended her days navigating the perils of whitewater, she still finds refuge kayaking in the local lakes.
 
But Bryn's placid life hits the skids when an unwelcome cast of characters reenters her life. Del goes mysteriously missing, leading her fourteen-year-old son, Josh, to Bryn's doorstep for help. Then Carl, a trouble-making outcast the sisters knew years before, is desperate to find Del because she owes him money, pulling Bryn into the orbit of his schemes.
 
On the hunt for Del, Bryn and Josh follow an ever-elusive trail to Colorado, and at the annual Mountain Games competition in Vail, they finally confront the truth. For Bryn, all roads lead to the river, and on vicious Colorado whitewater, she is forced to muster every ounce of courage and strength she has to piece her family back together again.

About the Author


Rebecca Hodge is an author of fiction, a veterinarian, and a clinical research scientist who lives and writes in North Carolina. Fiction writing is the space where her creative side comes out to play, and her writing centers on characters who discover that life is not a spectator sport. She has three grown sons, two crazy dogs, and one patient husband. When not busy writing, she loves hiking, travel, and (of course) curling up with a good book.

Praise For…


Praise for Over the Falls:
“Hodge amps up the my-sister, my-frenemy vibe.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A novel you’ll want to keep reading.”
Red Carpet Crash

“Rebecca Hodge is quickly becoming the master of gripping, life altering, realistic action fiction. In Over the Falls, she creates that perfect blend of physical and emotional survival that keeps the pages turning.”
—Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author of Big Lies in a Small Town

“Rebecca Hodge's Over the Falls is a well-crafted suspense full of richly drawn characters and unexpected twists. I couldn’t put it down!"
—Mary Burton, New York Times bestselling author of the Criminal Profiler series

Over the Falls has a heart that roars even louder than the rapids. As a young man journeys to build a family for himself out of rubble, and his aunt battles to get past the implosion of her former life, Rebecca Hodge reminds us that it's never too late to begin again. A blend of domestic suspense with the kind of nature thriller that is fast becoming its own sub-genre, Hodge's novel will be gobbled down by fans of Michael Koryta's Those Who Wish Me Dead.”
—Jenny Milchman, USA Today bestselling author of Cover of Snow and The Second Mother


Praise for Wildland:
Once Upon A Book Club Pick
An Apple Best Book of February

"Hodge never rushes this heart-pounding story, letting us savor every exhilarating, life-affirming moment."
—Apple Books, Best Books of February
 
"[An] assured debut." 
Publishers Weekly
 
"Fans of Cheryl Strayed's Wild or Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone won't want to put down this nail-biter."
Booklist
 
“[Wildland] brilliantly explores themes of perseverance, survival, and responsibility...A pulse-pounder with heart, and highly recommended.”
Mystery Scene Magazine
 
"Women's fiction at its best."
Midwest Book Review
 
“Hodge shows great skill in writing a story that’s both touching and exhilarating.”
—Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author of Big Lies in a Small Town

“A thrilling debut by a talented author.” 
—Karen Harper, New York Times bestselling author of Deep in the Woods

“Hodge captures the strength of the human spirit to endure, persevere, and overcome. An edge of your seat, emotional, powerful story filled with inspiration.”
—Jennifer Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Me I Used to Be

“An adrenaline-pumping story about survival, acceptance, and courage...I loved every sentence, every plot twist, every character.” 
—Barbara Claypole White, bestselling author of The Promise Between Us

"Hodge’s band of characters pop off the page...Not to be missed!"
—Kathryn Craft, award-winning author of The Art of Falling
 
“Storytelling at its best."
—Barbara Davis, bestselling author of When Never Comes


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643857541
ISBN-10: 1643857541
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: September 7th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English