Salute the Dark (Shadows of the Apt #4) (Paperback)

Salute the Dark (Shadows of the Apt #4) By Adrian Tchaikovsky Cover Image
Maybe Unavailable, Ask us


Salute the Dark is the fourth book in the critically acclaimed epic fantasy series Shadows of the Apt. It's brought to you by author Adrian Tchaikovsky, winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award. As spymaster Stenworld makes a stand in his home city, others must chose where their loyalties lie.

All must face the end of days . . .

Uctebri’s long search for the Shadow Box is finally over. Now the vampiric sorcerer can begin his dark ritual. The Wasp-kinden’s Emperor believes this will grant him immortality, but Uctebri has his own plans – for the Emperor and the Empire.

The mighty Wasp armies are on the march. And now war is imminent, spymaster Stenwold can finally separate allies from false friends. For the Empire won’t stop until a black and gold flag hangs over Collegium, Stenwold's home city.

Tisamon the Weaponsmaster could chose to face the Wasp Emperor himself with a blade in his hand. But he’d need to abandon friends and family, embracing degradation and loss. Yet is he driven by Mantis-kinden honour, or being manipulated by something far more sinister?

Salute the Dark is followed by the fifth book in the Shadows of the Apt series, The Scarab Path.

About the Author

Adrian Tchaikovsky was born in Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire, and headed off to university in Reading to study psychology and zoology. For reasons unclear even to himself, he subsequently ended up in law. Adrian has since worked as a legal executive in both Reading and Leeds and now writes full time. He also lives in Leeds, with his wife and son. Adrian is a keen live role-player and occasional amateur actor. He has also trained in stage-fighting and keeps no exotic or dangerous pets of any kind – possibly excepting his son.

Adrian is the author of the critically acclaimed Shadows of the Apt series, the Echoes of the Fall series and other novels, novellas and short stories. The Tiger and the Wolf won the British Fantasy Award for Best Fantasy Novel – and Children of Time won the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel. This was in the award’s thirtieth anniversary year.

Praise For…

"That rarest of gems in series fantasy: an intermediate book in which genuinely decisive events occur. . . . Tchaikovsky tests all his characters in the full knowledge that many will fail, some heroically and others in despair. Readers who like their military fantasy to come with real consequences will be completely enthralled." --Publishers Weekly

"Fantasy readers will continue to enjoy the emotional turmoil and growth as each of the characters pursues their dreams. Even secondary characters are granted some depth, rather than just providing background, and this allows for some interesting plot twists." --Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781529050325
ISBN-10: 1529050324
Publisher: Tor
Publication Date: July 1st, 2021
Pages: 480
Language: English
Series: Shadows of the Apt