The Wishing Balloons (Hardcover)

The Wishing Balloons Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now (Updated at the end of every day)
19 on hand, as of May 27 8:03am
(Juv Fic)

Description


For fans of Be Kind, Come With Me, and Waiting, Jonathan D. Voss’s stunning new picture book, The Wishing Balloons, is a timeless story of the struggle, wonder, and power of making a new friend.

A young girl named Dot is overjoyed when the moving truck arrives at the house down the street, and even more excited when a boy her age steps out, offering the prospect of a new friend.

But Albert looks sad, and he won’t reveal why. After many attempts to cheer him up, Dot walks away defeated.

That night, a balloon with a note tied to its string taps her window. Unfolding the note, Dot finds a wish that Albert has written. This is her chance to make Albert happy—she will (creatively) grant his wishes.

Though as each wish becomes harder to grant, Dot learns the powerful lesson that sometimes being a friend means waiting until the people you care about are ready to reach out.

About the Author


Jonathan D. Voss was a portrait artist and graphic designer before becoming a children's book illustrator. Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh by Sally Walker was his first book. Brave Enough for Two is his author-illustrator debut. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

Jonathan D. Voss was a portrait artist and graphic designer before becoming a children's book illustrator. Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh by Sally Walker was his first book. Brave Enough for Two is his author-illustrator debut. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

Praise For…


"A story of loss and healing, The Wishing Balloons pulses with tenderness. It’s sure to prompt readers to consider extending their hand to anyone in need and to reflect on what true friendship really looks like." —BookPage


Product Details
ISBN: 9781250317377
ISBN-10: 1250317371
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2022
Pages: 48
Language: English